Tuesday, July 6, 2021

Pin It


The 1985 Retro Hollmann Awards in 2021

And the nominees for the 1985 Retro Hollmann Awards are:

Best Visual Effects

Back to the Future
Kevin Pike, special effects supervisor
Ken Ralston, supervisor of visual effects (ILM)

Greg Cannom, special alien creatures and effects
Peter Anderson, creature development / visual effects
Ken Ralston, visual effects supervisor
Mitch Suskin, visual effects production supervisor

Enemy Mine
Bob MacDonald, Jr., special effects supervisor
Don Dow, visual effects supervisor

John Gant, special effects
John Dykstra, special visual effects
Robert Shepherd, special effects producer

Young Sherlock Holmes
Stephen Norrington, animatronics supervisor
Kit West, special effects supervisor
Dennis Muren, visual effects supervisor

More, after the jump....

Best Actress

Norma Aleandro as Alicia
The Official Story

Geraldine Page as Carrie Watts
The Trip to Bountiful

Vanessa Redgrave as Jean Travers

Maggie Smith as Joyce Chilvers
A Private Function

Meryl Streep as Karen Blixen
Out of Africa

Best Adapted Screenplay

Jonathan Lynn
story by John Landis and Jonathan Lynn
from the board game created by Anthony E. Pratt

Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
Paul Schrader & Leonard Schrader and Chieko Schrader
from the novels Confessions of a Mask, The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, Kyoko's HouseRunaway Horses by Yukio Mishima

Out of Africa
Kurt Luedtke
from the books Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen, Isak Dinesen: The Life of a Storyteller by Judith Thurman, Silence Will Speak by Errol Trzebinski

Akira Kurosawa and Hideo Oguni and Masato Ide
from the play King Lear by William Shakespeare

The Shooting Party
Julian Bond
from the novel by Isabel Colegate

Best Director

Joyce Chopra
Smooth Talk

Akira Kurosawa

Sydney Pollack
Out of Africa

Paul Schrader
Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters

Peter Weir

Best Film Editing

Cannibal Holocaust
Vincenzo Tomassi

Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
Michael Chandler / Tomoyo Oshima

Out of Africa
Pembroke J. Herring / Sheldon Kahn / Fredric Steinkamp / William Steinkamp

Akira Kurosawa

Thom Noble

Original Screenplay

The Official Story
Aída Bortnik / Luis Puenzo

A Private Function
Alan Bennett
story by Alan Bennett & Malcolm Mowbray

Twice in a Lifetime
Colin Welland

David Hare

William Kelley & Earl W. Wallace
story by William Kelley and Pamela Wallace & Earl W. Wallace

Best Cinematography

The Color Purple
Allen Daviau

Kiss of the Spider Woman
Rodolfo Sanchez

Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
John Bailey

Out of Africa
David Watkin

Asakazu Nakai / Takao Saitô / Shôji Ueda

Best Actor

Tim Curry as Wadsworth

Harrison Ford as John Book

Tatsuya Nakadai as Lord Hidetora Ichimonji

Ken Ogata as Yukio Mishima
Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters

Robert Redford as Denys Finch-Hatton
Out of Africa

Best Costume Design

Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome
Norma Moriceau

Out of Africa
Milena Canonero

A Private Function
Phyllis Dalton

Prizzi's Honor

Emi Wada

Best Sound

Back to the Future
Charles L. Campbell / Robert R. Rutledge, supervising sound editors
Daniel J. Leahy / B. Tennyson Sebastian II / Robert Thirlwell / Bill Varney, re-recording mixers
Tak Ogawa, sound designer
William B. Kaplan, production sound mixer

Enemy Mine
Mike Le Mare, sound designer / supervising sound editor
Christian Schubert, sound mixer

Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome
Craig Carter / Tim Chau / Frank Lipson, sound effects editors
Bruce Lamshed, sound designer / sound mixer
Roger Savage, sound mixer / sound supervisor

The Return of the Living Dead
Dale Johnston, supervising sound editor
Jerry Whittington, sound effects editor
Chris Carpenter / Bob Minkler / Ray West, re-recording mixers

Runaway Train
Alan Howarth / Ken J. Johnston, sound effects
Michael Hart, sound effects editor
Jim Roddan, sound editor
John Hayward, re-recording mixer

Best Supporting Actress

Eileen Brennan as Mrs. Peacock

Mieko Harada as Lady Kaede

Madeline Kahn as Mrs. White

Lea Thompson as Lorraine Baines
Back to the Future

Tina Turner as Aunty Entity
Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome

Best Supporting Actor

Lou Gossett, Jr. as Jeriba Shigan
Enemy Mine

Hisashi Igawa as Shuri Kurogane

James Mason as Sir Randolph Nettleby
The Shooting Party

Pîtâ as Kyoami

Chris Sarandon as Jerry Dandridge
Fright Night

Best Ensemble

After Hours
casting by Mary Colquhoun

casting by Janet Hirshenson / Jane Jenkins

A Private Function
casting by Michelle Guish / Debbie McWilliams

The Shooting Party
casting by Maude Spector

Twice in a Lifetime
casting by Deborah Lucchesi

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Cannibal Holocaust
Aldo Gasparri, makeup effects
Massimo Giustini, makeup artist

Enemy Mine
Chris Walas, aliens creator and designer
Daniel Parker, makeup designer
Chris Taylor, key hair stylist

Michael Westmore, makeup designer
Tommy Cole / Zoltan Elek / John M. Elliott, Jr., makeup artists
Hazel Catmull / Renate Leuschner Pless, hair stylists

Tameyuki Aimi / Chihako Naito / Noriko Takamizawa / Shoshichiro Ueda, makeup artists
Yoshiko Matsumoto / Noriko Takamizawa, hair stylists

The Return of the Living Dead
Allan A. Apone / William Munns, special makeup effects
Yvette Bliss, punk makeup
Wendy Hogan, hair stylist

Best Score

Cannibal Holocaust
Riz Ortolani

John Morris

James Horner

Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
Philip Glass

Out of Africa
John Barry

Best Production Design

Enemy Mine
Rolf Zehetbauer, production design
Werner Achmann / Herbert Strabel, art direction

The Goonies
J. Michael Riva, production design
Rick Carter, art direction
Linda DeScenna, set decoration

Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome
Graham "Grace" Walker, production design
Anni Browning, art direction
Martin O'Neill, set decoration

Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
Eiko Ishioka, production design
Kazuo Takenaka, art direction
Kyoji Sasaki, set decoration

Shinobu Muraki / Yoshirô Muraki, production design
Jiro Hirai / Mitsuyuki Kimura / Yasuyoshi Ototake / Tsuneo Shimura / Osumi Tousho, set decoration

Best Original Song

The Breakfast Club - "Don't You (Forget About Me)"
music and lyrics by Keith Forsey and Steve Schiff

The Color Purple - "Miss Celie's Blues (Sister)"
music by Quincy Jones and Rod Temperton
lyrics by Quincy Jones, Rod Temperton and Lionel Richie

The Last Dragon - "7th Heaven"
music and lyrics by Bill Wolfer and Vanity

The Last Dragon - "The Last Dragon"
music and lyrics by Norman Whitfield and Bruce Miller

Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome - "We Don't Need Another Hero (Thunderdome)"
music and lyrics by Terry Britten and Graham Lyle

Best Motion Picture of the Year

Cannibal Holocaust
produced by Franco Di Nunzio / Franco Palaggi

produced by Debra Hill

Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
produced by Tom Luddy / Mataichirô Yamamoto

Out of Africa
produced by Sydney Pollack

produced by Masato Hara / Serge Silberman

Ran leads with twelve nominations, 30 films nominated overall.

You May Also Enjoy:
Like us on Facebook

No comments: