Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Pin It


The 2020 Hollmann Awards in 2021!

120 films qualified. You saw the Top Ten. Now, here are the 42 films nominated for the 2020 Hollmann Awards across 18 categories. That is the highest number of nominated films in the 15 years I've been doing these - and I still feel bad over what I didn't include!

In no particular order (truly - each category is on scraps of paper that I ball up, toss around, then select from at random to determine the order), the nominees are:

Best Adapted Screenplay

First Cow
Jon Raymond & Kelly Reichardt
from Raymond's novel The Half-Life

Hope Gap
William Nicholson
from his play The Retreat from Moscow

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Ruben Santiago-Hudson
from the play by August Wilson

The Man Standing Next
Woo Min-Ho, Lee Ji-Min
from the book KCIA Chiefs by Kim Choong-Seek

News of the World
Paul Greengrass and Luke Davies
from the novel by Paulette Jiles

Best Sound

The Invisible Man
P.K. Hooker, sound designer / supervising sound editor
Chris Terhune, sound designer
Will Files, supervising sound editor / re-recording mixer
Christopher Bonis / Goeun Lee Everett / Andrew Twite / Matt Yocum, sound effects editors
Tom Burns, re-recording mixer

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Paul Urmson, supervising sound editor / re-recording mixer
Wyatt Sprague, sound effects editor
Dane Lonsdale, sound mixer
Skip Lievsay, re-recording mixer

Sound of Metal
Nicolas Becker, supervising sound editor
Phillip Bladh, production sound mixer
Jaime Baksht / Carlos Cortés Navarrete / Michelle Couttolenc, re-recording mixers

Kathie Talbot, sound designer
Richard King, sound designer / supervising sound editor
Joseph Fraioli / Mark Larry / Michael W. Mitchell / Randy Torres, sound effects editors
Kevin O'Connell / Gary A. Rizzo, re-recording mixers

The Vast of Night
Johnny Marshall, sound designer / supervising sound editor / re-recording mixer
David Rosenblad, sound designer / sound editor

Best Original Screenplay

Ainu Mosir
Takeshi Fukunaga

Hannah Bos / Paul Thureen

Miss Juneteenth
Channing Godfrey Peoples

Promising Young Woman
Emerald Fennell

A Sun
Yaosheng Chang / Mong-Hong Chung

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Barney Burman / Ragnar Jorunndottir, special makeup effects
Katy Fray / Thomas Kolarek / Lisa Layman, makeup head
Peter Swords King, hair designer
Kimberly Boyenger / Tyler Ely, hair head

Come to Daddy
Tibor Farkas, makeup effects designer
Leanne Hoare, makeup head

I'm Thinking of Ending Things
Adam Bailey, special effects makeup designer
Anouck Sullivan, makeup head
Sarah Hindsgaul, hair head

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Matiki Anoff, makeup head
Sergio Lopez-Rivera / Sian Richards, personal makeup artists
Larry M. Cherry / Mia Neal, hair heads
Deidra Dixon / Jamika Wilson, personal hair stylists

The Man Standing Next
Hwang Hyo-Kyun / Kwak Tae-Yong, special makeup
Kim Seo-Hee, makeup

Best Supporting Actor

Brian Dennehy as Del

Colman Domingo as Cutler
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Paul Raci as Joe
Sound of Metal

Glynn Turman as Toledo
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Courtney B. Vance as Louis

Best Score

Beasts Clawing at Straws
Nene Kang

Let Them All Talk
Thomas Newman

Emile Mosseri

Dickon Hinchliffe

Mucho Mucho Amor: The Legend of Walter Mercado
Jeff Morrow

Best Actress

Nicole Beharie as Turquoise Jones
Miss Juneteenth

Viola Davis as Ma Rainey
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Yeri Han as Monica

Carey Mulligan as Cassie
Promising Young Woman

Meryl Streep as Alice Hughes
Let Them All Talk

Best Original Song

Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga - "Húsavík (Hometown)"
music and lyrics by Savan Kotecha / Rickard Göransson / Max "Fat Max Gsus" Grahn

Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey - "Miles and Miles"
music and lyrics by Philip Lawrence / Michael Diskint / Davy Nathan

Military Wives - "Home Thoughts from Abroad"
music and lyrics by Guy Chambers / Robbie Williams

Over the Moon - "Rocket to the Moon"
music and lyrics by Christopher Curtis / Marjorie Duffield / Helen Park

We Are Little Zombies - "We Are Little Zombies"
music and lyrics by Makoto Nagahisa

Best Supporting Actress

Candice Bergen as Roberta
Let Them All Talk

Niecy Nash as Sylvia

Veronica Ngo as Hanoi Hannah
Da 5 Bloods

Dianne Wiest as Susan
Let Them All Talk

Youn Yuh-jung as Soonja

Best Ensemble

casting by Marcelo Caetano

casting by Bethany Knox / Bernard Telsey

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
casting by Avy Kaufman

casting by Laray Mayfield

A Sun
casting by Li-Fu Kuo

Best Editing

Da 5 Bloods
Adam Gough

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Andrew Mondshein

The Personal History of David Copperfield
Mick Audsley / Peter Lambert

Promising Young Woman
Frédéric Thoraval

We Are Little Zombies
Maho Inamoto

Best Production Design

Thales Junqueira, production design

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Mark Ricker, production design
Karen O'Hara / Diana Stoughton, set decoration

The Man Standing Next
Cho Hwa-Sung, production design

Promising Young Woman
Michael Perry, production design
Liz Kloczowski, art direction
Rae Deslich, set decoration

We Are Little Zombies
Yukiko Kuribayashi, production design
Rei Mano, art direction

Best Costume Design

Michael O'Connor

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Ann Roth

Charlotte Walter

Amela Baksic

We Are Little Zombies

Satsuki Shimoyama / Yoshikazu "writtenafterwards" Yamagata

Best Visual Effects

The Invisible Man
Dan Oliver, special effects supervisor
Daniel Betti, on-set special effects supervisor
Jonathan Dearing, visual effects supervisor
Cary Smith, on-set visual effects supervisor

The Midnight Sky
Eggert Ketilsson / David Watkins, special effects supervisors
Jack Lennie / Pavle Vitakin, special effects designers
Mark Bakowski / Oliver Cubbage / Shawn Hillier / Matt Kasmir / Christopher Lawrence / Graham Page, visual effects supervisors
Meena Ibrahim / Laurent Laban / Max Solomon, animation supervisors

Scott R. Fisher / Vishal Tyagi / Andy Williams, special effects supervisors
Andrew Jackson / Andrew Lockley / Katie Stetson, visual effects supervisors

Alvin Huynh / Luis Miguel Roledo Luna / Timothee Nolasco, creature fx
Mark R. Byers / Alan Scott, special effects supervisors
Kenneth Au / Axel Bonami / Blair Clark / Keegan Douglas / David Lingenfelser, visual effects supervisors

We Are Little Zombies
Tomohiro Futase, visual effects supervisor

Best Cinematography

House of Hummingbird
Kang Kook-Hyun

Hoyte von Hoytema

Vitalina Varela

Leonardo Simões

We Are Little Zombies
Hiroaki Takeda

The Wild Goose Lake
Jingsong Dong

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman as Levee Green
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Delroy Lindo as Paul
Da 5 Bloods

Mads Mikkelsen as Martin
Another Round

Clarke Peters as Otis
Da 5 Bloods

Juan Daniel Garcia Treviño as Ulises Sampiero
I'm No Longer Here

Best Director

Pedro Costa
Vitalina Varela

Juliano Dornelles & Kleber Mendonça Filho

Emerald Fennell
Promising Young Woman

Makoto Nagahisa
We Are Little Zombies

George C. 
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Best Motion Picture of the Year

produced by Saïd Ben Saïd / Emilie Lesclaux / Michel Merkt

Let Them All Talk
produced by Gregory Jacobs

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
produced by Todd Black / Denzel Washington / Dany Wolf

Vitalina Varela
produced by Abel Ribeiro Chaves

We Are Little Zombies
produced by Haruhiko Hasegawa / Shin'ichi Takahashi / Taihei Yamanishi / Haruki Yokoyama

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom leads the pack with 13 nominations!

You May Also Enjoy:
Like us on Facebook

No comments: