Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Pin It


Lovely Lensing

The American Society of Cinematographers have announced their own nominees. The news is already a day old, but there's no harm in being a little late for these things. It's not like the nominees will suddenly disappear because I didn't blog about them...right? Or are the precursors like the walking ad monsters in that Simpsons "Treehouse of Horror" episode, where their survival depends on how many people find them relevant and are compelled to watch? Whatever the case may be, I for one love the precursors, and the cinematography one interests me more and more.

Danny Cohen, The King's Speech
Jeff Cronenweth, The Social Network
Roger Deakins, True Grit
Matthew Libatique, Black Swan
Wally Pfister, Inception

Ok, I honestly would've predicted The Fighter's Hoyt von Hoytema instead of Cohen, so that is a surprise. But not the bad kind! It's a nice surprise, actually, since the cinematography in The King's Speech is actually pretty classy, pretty well-done, pretty top-notch.

This is a pretty strong list, isn't it? Much like the directors, we've got a solid group of master craftsmen in contention. Personally, I feel it's between Deakins and Libatique, and I'm predicting Libatique for the win.  Great stuff, Black Swan.


Robert said...

These are almost my five favorites of the year, perhaps replacing "Inception" and "The Social Network" with "Scott Pilgrim" and "127 Hours". But "Black Swan" for the win!

TomS said...

Thanks for keeping us up to date on this Walter.
Can't wait for the Editor's Guild noms!

Joseph said...

Yeah, I was surprised that The Fighter wasn't nominated; great work there. Hoping for a Deakins win this year (as always).